The Survival of Parenthood

Don’t you just hate it when your beloved Toddler wakes up in the middle of the night crying for no apparent reason, and then refuses to go to sleep because she is now up? Yup.. I do too, We as parent try to survive. We log into survival mode and my survival mode is giving her my phone to play with and sticking Peppa pig in the dvd player just so mummy can get some more sleep.

Parenthood doesn’t come naturally to everyone, and believe me it didn’t come to me that easily, to be honest I struggled a lot, and it was hard and even now with a growing little person I still find it a pain. I say this like she’s a burden, but as much as I love and dote on my daughter, some nights I think what would life be like with out her, it defiantly wouldn’t be the same, it would be strange, but I wouldn’t have to worry about feeding someone to make sure there not hungry I wouldn’t have to be on call 24/7 I would get a decent undisturbed nights sleep and better more I wouldn’t have the responsibility.

Surviving being a parent is tough, and its hard work, it reminds me of something out of mean girls but instead of high school were now battling against other parents, at PTAs, School gates even at the soft play centre, there are parents every where and they are our predator and newbie parents like myself are the prey. Well thats what it feels like any ways. I’m just trying to survive in this modern world bringing up a toddler and if that means that she wakes up crying and I give her my phone or the iPad to play with at dumb o’clock in the morning just so I can get more rest bite so I am more engerised for the day I don’t call that dumb, I call that survival. I’ve had nearly three years of corrupted sleep like many parents out there I’m lucky that my daughter isn’t that bad and I do hope as she gets older sleeping will get better, but in the mean time I am happy to do what I do, as all parents were trying to survive the battle of right and wrong parenting and there is no real answer only that we do whats best for our situation.

 

Leave a Reply

